News

Destiny 2 Servers Are Down For Scheduled Maintenance [Update: Back Online]

  • Written by Gamespot

Update 5: Maintenance is finally over, and Destiny 2 is back online. That said, there's sure to be a rush of people hoping to start playing, so Bungie warns that you may again encounter the server queue we've seen at launch and a few other times. As before, don't try to back out of the queue and sign in again; doing so will only cause you to lose your place and require more time before you can get in.

Update 4: While the downtime estimate for Destiny 2's servers has not been changed, Bungie did provide a vague update on what's going on. "Still conducting planned maintenance and addressing some new issues," it said in a tweet. "Please stand by. Pardon our dust." There was no further word on what's causing the delay.

Update 3: Destiny 2's server downtime has been extended once again, this time for two more hours. The servers are now expected to be back online at 2 PM PT / 5 PM ET / 10 PM BST. Bungie didn't provide any indication of what was causing the additional downtime. On an unrelated note (as far as we know), Bungie also announced it will be removing an item from Destiny 2 due to an unintentional reference to a hate symbol.

Update 2: Bungie has announced that it is extending the downtime by an additional hour. Destiny 2's servers are now expected to come back online at 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET / 8 PM BST. Additionally, a new update is now available, although no details regarding it have been shared. It's possible it includes the content for the Raid, which launches on Wednesday.

Update: Destiny 2's servers remained online for a bit longer than expected, but they're now offline. They're expected to remain down for the next four hours or so for Bungie to complete its maintenance period, which follows some instability last night and ahead of the launch of new game modes later this week. The original story follows.

No Caption Provided

Destiny 2's servers will go offline today for four hours as part of scheduled maintenance. The process will begin at 7 AM PT/3 PM BST/12 AM AEST, when players will no longer be able to log into Destiny 2 or the first Destiny.

Those that are already in the game will be removed an hour later at 8 AM PT/ 4 PM BST/ 1 AM AEST. The server maintenance is expected to end at 11 AM PT/7PM BST/4 AM AEST. The downtime comes ahead of the first wave of new content for Destiny 2, which includes a refresh of the Nightfall, the Flashpoint on Nessus, the arrival of Xur, and a new Raid.

Destiny 2's first Raid will be available on Wednesday and, if the first game is any indication, will require players to be at the top of their game to complete. To help players get there, we've put together class guides for the Warlock, Titan, and Hunter. We've also got guides on how to get the Sturm, Coldheart, and MIDA Multi-Tool Exotics, which will give you a big advantage.

For lots more on Destiny 2, check out GameSpot's roundup of everything you need to know. It covers our review in progress and many other key details.

Read More at GameSpot.com